Happiness is a choice.

wekosh-quote-do-what-makes-you-happy-be-with-who-makes-you-smile

Be happy.  Be yourself.  If others don’t like it, then let them be.  Happiness is a choice.  Life isn’t about pleasing everybody.

Today is the day. I’m done pretending to be a certain way so a certain group of people will like me. I’m done trying to please everyone. I’m just done. I often hear the phrase “Do what makes you happy” and I’m like Oh yeah duh, why would anyone do stuff that doesn’t make them happy? Wrong. I keep finding myself living more by the phrase “Do what makes OTHERS happy.” I totally think that making others happy is important and a loving gesture, but it can be unhealthy if you are sacrificing your own happiness for others. There needs to be a balance. I have recently found myself trying to change for the people around me so they would think I was a “better” person. I found that not only did this make me unhappy because I wasn’t being true to myself, but it also made me realize I will never be good enough for anyone here on Earth. Jesus loves me just the way I am. Flaws and all, I’m imperfectly perfect. I thought long and hard about whether I should write this post, but I felt that there are a ton of people out there struggling with this problem just like me. It’s okay to be different. That is what makes you unique. Trust me, I KNOW you’re probably thinking Wow I hear this all the time, could you be any cheesier? Yeah I think that too when I initially hear those words. Just listen to me real quick. Sit there and think about all the great things you have to offer. Now think about whether you have changed or adjusted any of these qualities to fit in with others; whether that be personality or the way you dress or how much you weigh. There’s nothing wrong with changing these things if it is YOUR choice to do so. If you want to do something, please shoot for the moon and achieve your goals but don’t let others be the only influence behind these changes. I guess what I’m trying to say is start focusing on your own happiness and well-being rather than throwing it all aside for someone who doesn’t really matter in your life. The people that truly matter are the ones who love every single atom of you FOR YOU. Today I choose to be happy.

“Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect. It means you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.” -Unknown

2 thoughts on “Happiness is a choice.

  1. Pingback: What You Believe Can Change Overnight | Yearn for More

Leave a Reply

